Georgia

Georgia*

Full name: Republic of Georgia*
* Georgia has completely left the CIS on January 22, 2010
National name Sakartvelo (Kartveli - "Georgian")

CONTENTS:

Additional information:



Capital: Tbilisi
Location: in the Western part of the Caucasus region of Eurasia, in the Eastern coast of the Black Sea
Area: 69,700 sq km
Geographic coordinates: 42 N and 4330' E
Neighboring countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, Turkey
Land boundaries: in the North with Russia - 723 km, in the South with Turkey - 252 km, Azerbaijan - 322 km and Armenia - 164 km
Note: Georgia regards some territories as occupied and as a part of Georgia - Abkhazia and South Ossetia are the territories that Russia and some other countries recognized as independent states

Geographical location and nature


Map of Georgia

The State in Western Asia (Transcaucasia). In the North borders with Russia (the length of the border is 723 km), in the south - with Turkey (252 km), Azerbaijan (322 km) and Armenia (164 km) in the west washed by the Black Sea. The total length of the border is 1,461 km, coastline length - 310 km. The total area of the country is 69,700 sq km. Most of the country is occupied by mountains (over 4/5 of the territory). The Greater Caucasian Ridge form the northern boundary. Here is the country's highest peak - Mount Shkhara (5,068 m). The south part of the territory is occupied by the Lesser Caucasus Ridge, its height is not exceeding 3 000 m. Between the ridges are the valleys of the rivers Kura and Rioni. In the west, along the Black Sea, stretches Kolkheti lowland. In the east dominated by steppe. The state is rich in manganese, iron and copper ores, there are minor coal and oil. Under the arable land allocated 11% of all lands, forests and shrubs occupy 38% of the country, meadows and pastures - 29%.


Administrative division

Administrative Divisions of Georgia
No.  Full Name Administration Center
  City of the Republican Value:
1.  Tbilisi City Capital
  Regions:
1.  Guria Region Ozurgeti
2.  Imereti Region Kutaisi
3.  Kakheti Region Telavi
4.  Kvemo Kartli Region Rustavi
5.  Samtskhe-Javakheti Region Akhaltsikhe
6.  Mtskheta-Mtianeti Region Mtskheta
7.  Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti Region Ambrolauri
8.  Samegrelo and Zemo Svaneti Region Zugdidi
9.  Shida Kartli Region Gori
  Autonomous Republics:
1.  Ajara Autonomous Republics Batumi
2.  Abkhazia Autonomous Republics Sokhumi

Population

The population is 4,630,003 people (2008). The average population density is about 67 persons per sq. km. The largest ethnic group - Georgian (83,7% of the population), Armenian - 5,7%, Russian - 1,5%, Azeri - 6,5%, Ossetian - 0,9% and other ethnic groups. Most of the inhabitants profess Christianity: Georgian Orthodox - 65%, Russian Orthodox - 10%, Armenian Orthodox - 8%, Muslims are about 11% of the population. The state language is Georgian. Russian, Armenian and Azerbaijani are also common. Life expectancy: men - 69 years, women - 77 years.


Climate

In the west, subtropical, in the east - transitional from subtropical to moderate.

Average January temperatures range from +3 to -9 degrees Celsius on the Colchis lowland and in Ajara, to -2 degrees Celsius in the Iberian Basin. In the mountainous regions of Svaneti and Javakheti winter temperatures can fall to -16 -20 degrees Celsius. Summers are hot and long - the average August temperature is almost throughout the country ranging from +23 to +26 degrees Celsius.

Fallout of precipitation is evenly throughout the year with a slight increase in autumn and winter. In Imereti and Ajara annual precipitation is from 1,000 to 2,800 mm of precipitation, in Kakheti and Javakheti - 300-600 mm. In mountainous areas, snow falls in November and steadily kept up to March or April.


Flora

In Colchis deciduous forests of Georgia grow Tissa, boxwood, oak, Pontic Rhododendron, hornbeam, laurel, bur grass and lianas. On the plateau - pistachio, Celtis and juniper.


Fauna

The fauna of Georgia is quite rich: Caucasian tour, antelope, bezoar goat, Caucasian deer, brown bear. Many birds, including the Alpine Chough, Caucasian black grouse, ular.


Government type

Political system - Presidential Republic. Capital - Tbilisi. The country is divided into 66 administrative districts, Georgia also includes two autonomous republics: Abkhazia and Ajara (South-Ossetian autonomous region abolished by the central authorities in December 1990). Georgia received the independence on April 9, 1991, after the collapse of the Soviet Union (former name - Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic). National Day - April, 9 - Independence Day (1991).


Economy, transport communications

Georgia - agro-industrial country, rich in minerals. But the consequences of the severance of economic ties with the republics of the former USSR, political instability and war in Abkhazia had a negative impact on the economy of Georgia. In many industries, the most developed of which - food, light industry, machine-building, metallurgy, non-ferrous metallurgy, chemical, fuel, - there is a decline in production. GNP in 2009 was 11,271 billion US dollars. (GNP per capita - 4,400 US dollars). Fertile soils favor the development of agriculture. Nearly half of all crops in Georgia accounted for crops, potatoes, vegetables, grapes, fruits, including citrus are also grown. However, the greatest economic importance are tea plantations, is one of the most important exports. About 30% of gross agricultural output accounted for livestock (cattle, pigs, sheep). There are valuable sources of mineral waters. Currency - Lari (GEL), 1 lari = 100 tetri. Major trade partners of Georgia: Russia, Turkey, Armenia, Azerbaijan.

The total length of the railways - 1,570 km, auto roads - 33,900 km. Main ports - Batumi and Poti.


History

Between 6 c. and 4 c. BC on the territory of modern Georgia was formed two states - Colchis, located on the Black Sea coast, and Iberia, which includes areas of east modern Georgia. Around 600 BC Greeks established in Colchis their first settlements. The country soon fell under the domination of the Persians, and then was conquered by Alexander the Great, after a reign of which Georgia became an independent state. In 65 BC Colchis came under the power of ancient Rome, while the Persians once again began to dominate over the eastern part of the country. With the adoption of Christianity in the 4 c., in Georgia appear a large quantity of churches and monasteries, which have played an important role in the development of writing and literature. The territory of Georgia for the long period of time has been the subject of claims of the Persian and Byzantine Empires, and in the second half of the 7 c. was captured by the Arabs. At the end of the 8 c. was liberated the western part of the country, towards which, during Bagrat III (974-1014), East Region was joined, except Tiflis, freed from the Muslims in 1122 by the King David IV (1073-1125). Its zenith Georgian state reached during the Queen Tamara (1184-1213), whose lands stretched from the Black Sea to the Caspian Sea. Devastated of Tamerlane invasion in 1386-1405, Georgia for three centuries was the object of dispute between Turks and Persians. As a Persian protectorate from 1786, Georgia asked for protection from Russia, which annexed the country in 1801. During the revolution in Russia, Mensheviks have taken the power in Georgia and in 1918 proclaimed the the independence of the country. After a short period of German occupation, in 1921 Georgia was declared a Soviet republic. After the collapse of the Soviet Union and gained independence in 1991, there were serious inter-ethnic conflicts in Georgia in the regions of South Ossetia and Abkhazia.


Places of interest

The Old City of Vardzia Holy Trinity Cathedral The Top of Mount Kazbek and the Church
The Old City of Vardzia Holy Trinity Cathedral The Top of Mount Kazbek and the Church

There are 15 nature reserves were created in Georgia, among which are Lagodekhi, Borjomi, Ritsinsky. There are many well-known spa and seaside resorts - Borjomi, Gagra, Batumi, Pitsunda. In Tbilisi noteworthy: Sioni Cathedral (5 c.) Monastery of St. David (6 c.), the ruins of the Narikala Citadel, the temple Metechi (1278-1293), a city carved into the rocks - Vardzia, built in the golden age of Queen Tamara (12 c.).


.

Грузия

Грузия*

Полное наименование: Республика Грузия*
* 22 января 2010 года Грузия окончательно вышла из состава СНГ
Национальное название Сакартвело (картвелы – "грузины")

СОДЕРЖАНИЕ:

Дополнительная информация:



Столица: Тбилиси
Расположение: в западной части Закавказья, на восточном побережье Черного моря
Площадь: заявленная – 69 700 кв.км, фактически контролируемая – 57 200 кв.км
Координаты: 42° северной широты и 43°30' восточной долготы
Соседние государства: Азербайджан, Армения, Россия, Турция
Протяженность границ с государствами: на севере с Россией – 723 км (в качестве участков российско-грузинской границы Грузией также рассматриваются границы России с Абхазией и Южной Осетией), на юге с Турцией – 252 км, Азербайджаном – 322 км и Арменией – 164 км
Примечание: Грузия расценивает ряд территорий как оккупированные и входящие в состав Грузии — это территории Абхазии и Южной Осетии, которые признаны Россией и некоторыми другими государствами в качестве независимых государств

Географическое положение и природа


Карта Грузии

Государство в Западной Азии (Закавказье). На севере граничит с Россией (длина границы 723 км), на юге – с Турцией (252 км), Азербайджаном (322 км) и Арменией (164 км), на западе омывается Черным морем. Общая протяженность границы 1 461 км, длина береговой линии – 310 км. Общая площадь страны 69 700 кв.км. Большая часть страны занята горами (свыше 4/5 территории). Северную границу формируют Главный Кавказский хребет. Здесь находится самая высокая вершина страны – гора Шхара (5 068 м). Юг территории занимает Малый Кавказский хребет, высота которого не превышает 3 000 м. Между хребтами находятся долины рек Кура и Риони. На западе, вдоль берега Черного моря, простирается Колхидская низменность. На востоке страны преобладают степи. Недра страны богаты марганцем, железными и медными рудами, есть незначительные залежи угля и нефти. Под пахотные земли отведено 11% всех земель, леса и кустарники занимают 38% территории страны, луга и пастбища – 29%.


Административное деление

  Полное название Административный центр
  Город республиканского значения:
1.  Тбилиси Столица
  Области:
1.  Гурия Озургети
2.  Имерети Кутаиси
3.  Кахети Телави
4.  Квемо Картли Рустави
5.  Самцхе-Джавахети Ахалцихе
6.  Мцхета-Мтианети Мцхета
7.  Рача-Лечхуми и Квемо Сванети Амбролаури
8.  Самегрело и Земо Сванети Зугдиди
9.  Шида Картли Гори
  Автономные Республики:
1.  Автономная Республика Аджария Батуми
2.  Автономная Республика Абхазия Сухуми

Население

Население составляет 4 630 003 человека (2008 г.). Средняя плотность населения около 67 человека на кв.км. Самая крупная этническая группа – грузины (83,7% населения), армяне составляют 5,7%, русские – 1,5%, азербайджанцы – 6,5%, осетины – 0,9% и другие этнические группы. Большинство жителей исповедуют христианство: грузинское православие – 65%, русское православие – 10%, армянское православие – 8%, мусульман насчитывается около 11% населения. Государственный язык грузинский, распространены также русский, армянский и азербайджанский. Средняя продолжительность жизни: мужчин – 69 лет, женщин – 77 лет.


Климат

На западе субтропический, на востоке - переходный от субтропического к умеренному.

Средние температуры января составляют от +3-9 градусов по Цельсию на Колхидской низменности и в Аджарии, до -2 градусов по Цельсию в Иверийской впадине. В горных районах Сванетии и Джавахети температура зимой может опускаться до -16-20 градусов по Цельсию. Лето жаркое и продолжительное - средняя температура августа почти на всей территории страны составляет от +23 до +26 градусов по Цельсию.

Осадки выпадают достаточно равномерно в течение всего года с небольшим увеличением осенью и зимой. В Имерети и Аджарии в год выпадает от 1 000 до 2 800 мм. осадков, в Кахетии и Джавахети - 300-600 мм. В горных районах снег выпадает в ноябре и устойчиво держится до марта-апреля.


Растительный мир

В колхидских широколиственных лесах Грузии произрастают тисс, самшит, дуб, понтийский рододендрон, граб, лавровишня, иглица и лианы. На плоскогорье – фисташка, каркас, можжевельник.


Животный мир

Фауна Грузии довольна богата: кавказский тур, серна, безоаровый козел, кавказский олень, бурый медведь. Много птиц, в том числе альпийская галка, кавказский тетерев, улар.


Государственное устройство

Государственный строй – президентская республика. Столица – Тбилиси. Страна разделена на 66 административных районов, в состав Грузии включены также две автономные республики: Абхазская и Аджарская (Юго-Осетинская автономная область упразднена центральными властями в декабре 1990 г.). Независимость Грузия получила 9 апреля 1991 г. после распада Советского Союза (прежнее название – Грузинская Советская Социалистическая Республика). Национальный праздник – 9 апреля – День независимости (1991 г.).


Экономика, транспортные коммуникации

Грузия – аграрно-индустриальная страна, богатая полезными ископаемыми. Однако последствия разрыва экономических связей с республиками бывшего СССР, политической нестабильностью и войны с Абхазией негативно отразились на экономике Грузии. Во многих отраслях промышленности, наиболее развитые их которых – пищевая, легкая, машиностроение, черная металлургия, цветная металлургия, химическая, топливная, – наблюдается спад производства. ВНП составил в 2009 г. 11,271 млрд. долларов США. (ВНП на душу населения – 4 400 долларов США). Плодородные почвы благоприятствуют развитию сельского хозяйства. Около половины всех посевов в Грузии приходится на зерновые культуры, выращиваются также картофель, овощи, виноград, фрукты, в т. ч. цитрусовые. Однако наибольшее хозяйственное значение имеют чайные плантации, составляющие одну из важнейших статей экспорта. Около 30% валовой продукции сельского хозяйства приходится на животноводство (крупный рогатый скот, свиньи, овцы). В стране имеются ценные источники минеральных вод. Денежная единица – лари (GEL), 1 лари равен 100 тетри. Главные торговые партнеры Грузии: Россия, Турция, Армения, Азербайджан.

Общая протяженность железных дорог – 1 570 км, автодорог – 33 900 км. Главные морские порты – Батуми, Поти.


История

Между 6 и 4 вв. до н.э. на территории современной Грузии сформировалось два государства – Колхида, расположенная на побережье Черного моря, и Иберия, в которую вошли районы восточной современной Грузии. Около 600 г. до н.э. греки основали в Колхиде свои первые поселения. Страна вскоре попала под господство персов, а затем была завоевана Александром Македонским, после царствования которого Грузия стала независимым государством. В 65 г. до н.э. Колхида попала под власть Древнего Рима, в то время как над восточной частью страны вновь стали господствовать персы. С принятием христианства в 4 в. в Грузии появляется большое количество храмов и монастырей, которые сыграли важную роль в развитии письменности и литературы. Территория Грузии долгое время была объектом притязаний Персидской и Византийской империй, а во второй половине 7 в. была захвачена арабами. В конце 8 в. была освобождена западная часть страны, к которой присоединился при Баграте III (974-1014) восточный регион, за исключением Тифлиса, освобожденного от мусульман в 1122 г. царем Давидом IV (1073-1125). Своего наивысшего расцвета грузинское государство достигло при царице Тамаре (1184-1213), чьи владения простирались от Черного до Каспийского моря. Опустошенная нашествием Тамерлана в 1386-1405 гг., Грузия в течение трех веков была объектом спора между турками и персами. Будучи персидским протекторатом с 1786 г., Грузия попросила покровительства у России, которая аннексировала страну в 1801 г. Во время революции в России власть в Грузии взяли меньшевики, провозгласившие в 1918 г. независимость страны. После короткого периода немецкой оккупации Грузия в 1921 г. была объявлена советской республикой. После распада СССР и получения независимости в 1991 г. в Грузии происходили серьезные межэтнические конфликты в районах Южной Осетии и Абхазии.


Достопримечательности

Древний город Вардзия Собор Святой Троицы Вершина Казбек и церковь
Древний город Вардзия Собор Святой Троицы Вершина Казбек и церковь

В Грузии создано 15 заповедников, среди которых Лагодехский, Боржомский, Рицинский. В стране много известных бальнеологических и морских курортов – Боржоми, Гагра, Батуми, Пицунда. В Тбилиси примечательны: Сионский собор (5 в.), монастырь св. Давида (6 в.), развалины цитадели Нарикала, храм Метехи (1278-1293), город, высеченный в скалах - Вардзия, построенный в золотом веке царицей Тамарой (12 в).


Яндекс.Метрика